Skip to main content
Use the right side menu to identify relevant boxes and place requests.

Kelmscott Press Books, 1891-1898


The sub-series contains 34 of the 53 books produced by the Kelmscott Press, spanning the years 1891 to 1898. It contains books of poetry, history, as well as works by Morris himself, amoung others. The Kelmscott Press was founded by Morris in 1891 as a means of returning to pre-Industrial production methods.


  • 1891-1898

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open to the public and must be used in the Special Collections Reading Room. Researchers must register and agree to copyright and privacy laws before using this collection.


34 Items


The books in this sub-series are arranged using William S. Peterson's citation numbers from A Bibliography of The Kelmscott Press; this order is roughly chronological. Peterson's bibliography provides additional details about the majority of Kelmscott Press materials in the William Morris papers. Peterson divided his bibliography into five parts using the letters A through E.

Existence and Location of Copies

Select books from this series have been digitized and are available in the Internet Archive. If a book has been digitized, there is a link to the scanned pages at the item level.

Copies of select books have also been digitized by other institions. To locate scans that may exist outside of UMD Libraries, please consult our research guide, William Morris and the Kelmscott Press.

Library Details

Part of the Special Collections and University Archives

University of Maryland Libraries
Hornbake Library
4130 Campus Drive
College Park Maryland 20742