Skip to main content
Use the right side menu to identify relevant boxes and place requests.

Victor Babin Collection

 Collection 0001-IPAM

Victor Babin (1908-1972), pianist and composer, was part of a two-pianist performing duo with his wife, Vitya Vronsky. He was also active as a teacher and administrator. This collection consists of scores of pieces he performed written both by him and other composers, recordings of his works and his performances on reel-to-reel tapes, and two miscellaneous publications.


  • 1914-1978
  • Majority of material found within 1952-1970

Use and Access to Collection

There are no restricted files in this collection.


6.00 Linear Feet

Scope and Content of Collection

The Victor Babin Collection covers the years 1946 to 1978, with the bulk of material from 1952-1970. The collection consists of compositions by Babin, reel-to-reel tapes, published and unpublished works by other composers, and Babin’s miscellaneous publications. This collection contains Babin’s and other composers’ piano solos, as well as scores for piano concertos, piano duets, chamber music, and arrangements for two pianos. Vronsky, who plays on recordings with Babin, is featured in the collection, and some major composers in this collection include Mozart, Tchaikovsky, Brahms, Schumann, Schubert, Stravinsky, and Debussy. The collection features Babin’s performances at the Library of Congress, with the Cleveland Institute of Music Orchestra, at the Carnegie Lecture Hall, and at the Metropolitan Museum in New York.


This collection is organized as 3 series.

  1. Series 1: Scores
  2. Series 2: Miscellaneous Publications
  3. Series 3: Recordings (Reel-to-Reel Tapes)

Custodial History and Acquisition Information

Materials were received on June 11th, 1998. Donation of the Victor Babin Collection to IPAM was made possible through the good offices of Paul Schenly, a former student of Victor Babin.

Related Material

For other related archival and manuscript collections, please see the following subject guides.


  • Babin, V. (1971). Concerto da camera no. 3: for timpani, percussion ensemble (3 players), and piano duet. Dedicated in admiration to Cloyd Duff and Richard Weiner. Unpublished score, two copies.
  • Strauss, R. (n.d.). Der Rosenkavalier Waltz. Arranged by Victor Babin for two pianos. Unpublished score.


Victor Babin Collection
Processed by Max Brown.
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English
Donation of the Victor Babin Collection to IPAM was made possible through the good offices of Paul Schenly, a former student of Victor Babin.

Library Details

Part of the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library

University of Maryland Libraries
8270 Alumni Drive
College Park MD 20742 United States